Our Kitchen and Solomon´s Wisdom   Leave a comment

CONSTRUCTION: The rooms (patio, bathrooms, showers, sink, closet, kitchen, and guard´s room) have been built, the brick walls cleaned or cemented, and the plumbing and electricity installed (see photos).

We are so grateful and amazed by a $1000 donation to fix up the backyard and 2 other generous donations (summing $4,000) to help with the costs to finish Block 2. With a few more donations, it should only be a few more weeks before the downstairs is ready. Yea!

 

MY HEALTH: I was sick before traveling to Lima and Arequipa for our one year anniversary. There I got sicker. When I returned, the dust was so bad in my house that I just got sicker, coughing, wheezing, and having trouble breathing (like asthma attacks). I went to several doctors, but it didn´t help me; until Friday when I went to another doctor who emergency hospitalized me for pneumonia. We had to spend unexpected money to lay ceramic tiling on all the floors (see photos). I had to leave for a week, anyway, in order for Gilber to lay the tiles (he had to take up the cement flooring first, creating more dust). So I’m spending the week at the hospital. I guess it worked out. I will return Saturday to a cleaner home.

Thanks to so many of you who emailed saying you are praying for me. I have been hospitalized for the past couple days and will be there for a few more days. I am also being treated for parasites and seeing a surgeon for my intestinal problems caused by the surgeries. I am feeling better, coughing less and breathing easier. My doctor gave me permission to teach Club this morning, although I am weak and have a needle stuck in my hand (see photos). I am taking a moment to upload photos to my Blog and to write to update you, as I don´t have access to Internet in the hospital.

 

CLUB: Solomon had one “wish.” What would yours be? Solomon chose wisdom and was blessed. He gave us the book of Proverbs to help us have wisdom too. We talked about how the Bible is like a map, and wisdom is a compass, to guide us in our walk with God.

 

SOULS FOR HEAVEN: Last Sunday night, my friend Cory preached the following message: We as Christians have the power to do what Jesus did and more. Jesus never acted more than man during His time on earth. The miracles that He did and the life He lived and calls us to live is not impossible. Through the Holy Spirit, we have the power to leave the jail cell we´ve created by doubt and disbelief. We can walk free and walk with God and do mighty things.

I translated the message, and felt God speaking through me. I hadn´t translated in a while, and Cory spoke at a pace that I could follow easily. God moved. Cory and Ann made themselves available afterward, and several people came over to ask for prayer, and one of our youths left his jail cell to begin the walk with God (he accepted Christ)! The angels rejoiced and so did we!

 

BIBLE STUDY: 6-8 adolescents are coming to Bible study, held mornings for the kids who attend school in the afternoons, and in the afternoons for those who go to school in the mornings. The topic is David. Last Monday we took the afternoon class to the swimming pool. It was fun.

 

PRAISES: 

  • Spiritual growth and faithfulness for the youth who accepted Christ (his family are not believers)
  • Progress on Block 2´s construction
  • Josué´s grandpa celebrated his 91st birthday (see photo of family)

 

PRAYER REQUESTS:

  • That Josué and I will have increased passion for those who don´t know Jesus
  • Healing for my stomach and lungs; rest for Josué and me at the hospital (Josué´s staying nights with me, and Shirley in the day) (We asked the doctor to order no treatments through the night (the first 2 days I was awakened every time I tried to sleep—I haven´t slept well for a month; I was aggravated; so last night we slept about 5 hours straight!)
  • Committed hearts for the adolescents, especially the Bible study kids
  • Wisdom and patience for Gilber (our builder), Josué, and me in seeking good prices and building decisions, continued and rapid progress, no obstacles
  • Carl and Carol´s trip in a couple weeks; our river trip to Punto Alegre
  • My grandma who isn´t doing well and my aunt who is taking care of her
Posted March 21, 2010 by Seeds of Love in seeds

Leave a Reply

